Organising Committee

Symposium Chair

Professor Jose Villadangos

José Villadangos is a Professor of the University of Melbourne with a dual appointment in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the Peter Doherty Institute and the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the Bio21 Institute. His main research interests are the cells and molecules involved in Antigen Presentation and T cell Recognition, events that underpin every activity of the adaptive immune system.

José obtained his PhD from the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid in 1994. Subsequently he trained at MIT (Cambridge, USA), Harvard Medical School (Boston, USA), and The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI, Melbourne, Australia). He started his own laboratory at WEHI in 2001 and moved to The University of Melbourne in 2011.

José has authored over 120 original articles, reviews and book chapters. He has received funding from the Human Frontiers Science Program, the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, the Cancer Research Institute, the Anti-Cancer Council, the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia and the Australian Research Council. José is the Editor-in-Chief of Molecular Immunology and Current Research in Immunology. He was also President of the International Congress of Immunology 2016 held in Melbourne and is an Honorary Life Member and recipient of the Derek Rowley Medal of the Australasian Society for Immunology.

Organising Committee

Dr Justine Mintern

ARC Future Fellow, Senior Lecturer

Department Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

University of Melbourne 

A/Prof Meredith O’Keefe

Associate Professor (Research)

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Monash Biomedicine Discovery Institute 

A/Prof Sammy Bedoui

Associate Professor, MD, Theme Leader Immunology & Director 

Melbourne-Bonn Graduate School

Peter Doherty Institute of Infection and Immunity

The University of Melbourne 

Department of Microbiology and Immunology

A/Prof Kristen Radford 

Cancer Immunotherapies Group Leader & Mater Foundation Principal Research Fellow 

Mater Research University of Queensland